Daily Archives: February 11, 2013

RIP OpenSolaris.ORG

logo Belenix

 

Just noticed the site update today at http://www.opensolaris.org/. The website will be decom-ed after March 4th. This is the final symbolic nail in the coffin of what myself and many others I know had worked very hard for and shown great passion. The nail was driven long back with the Oracle acquisition of SUN, soon the post-mortem report will be filed in some dusty corner of the great hall of Oracle. It was simply a fantastic OS platform but a great example of Free and OpenSource software done wrong, completely wrong by clueless management who would not listen to people who have lived and breathed OpenSource for many years.

 

I still remember the churning and frustration I felt inside when SUN launched OpenSolaris (http://desktoplinux.com/news/NS2543956200.html) without even a passing reference to BeleniX on which it was built. The first release of OpenSolaris was simply BeleniX outfitted with new clothes. I had toiled hard, very hard to bring all the distro and livecd technologies to the OpenSolaris platform. Given it was OpenSource and a labor of love, but when you take something in it’s entirety and completely ignore the creator/origin, it is equivalent to stealing. Forget about mentions in public, I did not even get any recognition within the company (apart from a few bones in the form of a few $$ being thrown) for all that work that made one of their flagship OS platform releases possible. The vitriol that had had burned me from inside is hard to describe. It was at that instant I had decided on leaving SUN where once I had planned to build a long-term career.

 

People doing hard work, good work and not getting recognized within organizations typically happens due to lack of visibility of their work outside of their silos. All of SUN knew about my work till the CEO and still nothing. I was completely and thoroughly sidelined while other teams did launches and launch parties. I never quite understood what was my fault. Or was it politics?

 

This is now long past and I was over that hump by the end of 2008. However it still remains as the most bitter memory of my life till date (apart from my father losing both his kidneys). Fortunately the work environment I went into after leaving SUN is quite different, in a positive way and is far from these issues.

 

Anyway, may you rest in peace OpenSolaris.

Deutsch: Logo von OpenSolaris als Vektorgrafik

Deutsch: Logo von OpenSolaris als Vektorgrafik (Photo credit: Wikipedia)